Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Board of Governors

SCB's Board meeting in March 2015, Front Royal, Virginia, USA
SCB Board Members in March 2015. From left to right, top row: Conservation Biology Editor-in-Chief Mark Burgman, Eddie Game,
SCB staff member Doug Parsons*, Carlos Carroll, Stephen Awoyemi, Ahimsa Campos-Arceiz, Ron Abrams,
SCB staff member Nate Spillman, Paul Beier, Richard Kingsford, SCB staff member Kat Diersen*, Piero Visconti. 
Bottom row: Chris Parsons*, John Cigliano, SCB staff members Cathy McIntosh, David Johns*, Kate Christen, Jessa Madosky, 
Rodrigo Medellin, Nora Bynum*, Alex Dehgan*, SCB Executive Director Geri Unger*, SCB staff member Shonda Foster,
James Watson, SCB staff member Lauren Krizel*, Rurik List, SCB staff member Lauren Bailey. Not pictured: Emily Darling
Leo Douglas, Bege Jonsson, Andrew Knight, Carolyn Lundquist, Nathalie Pettorelli, Sadie Ryan, Cagan Sekercioglu*,
Eleanor Sterling, Karen Beard*, Heather DeCaluwe, Gary Tabor, Mike Mascia, Sarah Reed, Jacqualine Grant.
*Former staff/board

Martin NGANJE
Independent Researcher, Environment & Forestry, Africa
Cameroon
martin.nganje@gmail.com
Section Governing Board President: Africa 
Term ends: 31 December 2020

Ahimsa Campos-Arceiz
The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus
School of Geography
Semenyih, Selangor
Malaysia
ahimsa@camposarceiz.com
Acting Section Governing Board President: Asia

Carlos Carroll
Klamath Center for Conservation Research
PO Box 104
Orleans, CA 95556
United States
carlos@klamathconservation.org
Section Governing Board President: North America
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Olivier Chassot
Great Green Macaw Program - Tropical Science Center
Costa Rica
ochassot@cct.or.cr
Section Governing Board President: Latin America and the Caribbean 
Term ends: 31 Dec 2017

Kate Christen
Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute
1500 Remount Road
Front Royal, VA 22630
United States
christenc@si.edu
Treasurer
Chair, Strategic Planning Committee
Term ends as Member at Large: 30 June 2017

John Cigliano
Cedar Crest College 
100 College Drive
Allentown, PA 18104
United States
jaciglia@cedarcrest.edu
Section Governing Board President: Marine
Term ends: 31 December 2016

Eddie Game
Asia-Pacific Resource Center
The Nature Conservancy
Australia
egame@tnc.org
Member at Large
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Jacqualine Grant
Garth and Jerri Frehner Museum of Natural History
Southern Utah University
Cedar City, Utah
United States
jacqualinegrant@suu.edu
Vice President for Education and Outreach: Portfolio of committees includes Education & Student Affairs, Working Groups, Fellowship Programs
Term ends: 30 June 2018

Marit Wilkerson
USAID - Africa Bureau 
Washington, DC
United States
mlwilkerson@ucdavis.edu
Secretary: Portfolio of committees include Strategic Planning & Implementation, Awards
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Richard Kingsford
Centre for Ecosystem Science
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052
Australia
richard.kingsford@unsw.edu.au
Section Governing Board President: Oceania
Term ends: 31 December 2016

Jessa Madosky
University of Tampa
United States
jmadosky@ut.edu
VP for Membership: Portfolio of committees includes Chapters and Diversity 
Chair, Chapters Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Rodrigo Medellin
Instituto de Ecología, UNAM
Ap. Postal 70-275
C.P. 04510
México, D. F.
medellin@miranda.ecologia.unam.mx
Past President: Portfolio of committees includes Governance 
Chair, Governance Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Mike Mascia
Conservation International
2011 Crystal Drive, Suite 500
Arlington, Virginia
United States
mmascia@conservation.org
President Elect: Portfolio of committees includes Conference 
Chair, Conference Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2021

Nathalie Pettorelli
Zoological Society of London
Institute of Zoology
United Kingdom
nathalie.pettorelli@ioz.ac.uk
Member at Large
Term ends: 30 June 2017

Sarah Reed
Wildlife Conservation Society
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado
United States
sarah.reed@colostate.edu
Vice President for Programs: Portfolio of committees includes Policy and Publications 
Chair, Policy Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Piero Visconti
Microsoft Research Computational Science Laboratory
Cambridge
United Kingdom​
pierovisconti@gmail.com
Section Governing Board President: Europe
Term ends: 31 December 2017

James Watson
Wildlife Conservation Society
University of Queensland
Australia
jwatson@wcs.org
President: Portfolio of committees includes Audit, Executive, Development
Chair, Development Committee
Chair, Executive Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2019

 

Ex-Officio Board Member

Heather DeCaluwe
Golden, Colorado
United States
hdecaluwe@conbio.org
Interim Executive Director, SCB


Appointed Committee Chairs


Ron Abrams
Dru Associates, Inc.
Long Island, New York
United States
ronwoolf07@gmail.com
ecofootprint@conbio.org
Chair, Ecological Footprint Committee

Cynthia Malone
Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
United States
cmalone@amnh.org
Co-Chair, Diversity Committee


Beth O'Donnell
elo2v@virginia.org
Chair, Audit Committee
 

Carolyn Lundquist
National Institute of Water and
Atmospheric Research (NIWA), New Zealand
Gate 10, Silverdale Road
PO Box 11-115 Hamilton 3251
New Zealand
Carolyn.Lundquist@niwa.co.nz
Chair, Awards Committee

Eleanor Sterling
Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
United States
sterling@amnh.org
Co-Chair, Diversity Committee

SCB Ombuds

John Robinson
Former SCB President
Chief Conservation Officer, and Executive Vice President
Wildlife Conservation Society
wildcons@gmail.com

Terms of Reference

Regional Section Board Members

Please see the Section webpages for current board member listings