Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Board of Governors

SCB board meeting in July 2017, Cartagena, Colombia
SCB board members, staff and volunteers as of July 2017. Top row (left to right): SCB staff Nate Spillman, Warren Sander, and Matt Herbert; SCB Asia Section President Anthony J. Lynam, Past Oceania Section President Richard Kingsford, SCB Africa Section Board Member Israel Borokini. Middle row: SCB Vice President for Membership Kevin Njabo, SCB Past President James Watson, SCB staff Laure Cugniere and Megan Cort, SCB Marine Section President Katie Matthews, SCB Vice President for Education & Outreach Jacqueline Grant, SCB Treasurer Heather DeCaluwe, SCB Secretary Marit Wilkerson, SCB North America Section Administrative Director Jamie Hogberg, SCB President-elect Adina Merenlender, SCB North America Section President Jessa Madosky, Smith Fellows Program Director Shonda Foster. Front Row: SCB Africa Section Board Member Benis Egoh, SCB Diversity, Inclusion & Equity Committee Member Rae Wynn-Grant, SCB staff Lauren Bailey, SCB Vice President for Programs Sarah Reed, SCB Europe Section President Bege Jonsson, SCB LACA Section President Olivier Chassot, and SCB Executive Director Debborah Luke. Board members, staff and journal leaders not pictured: SCB President Mike Mascia, SCB Africa Section President Martin Nganje, SCB Oceania Section President Vanessa Adams, Conservation Biology Editor-in-Chief Mark Burgman, Conservation Biology Senior Editor Ellen Main, Conservation Biology Managing Editor Frith Jarrad, and Conservation Letters Editor-in-Chief Eddie Game. 
 

Executive Committee Members

President

Mike Mascia
Conservation International
Virginia
United States
mmascia@conservation.org
Chair of the Conference Committee; Liaison to the Audit Committee and Executive Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2021

President Elect

Adina Merenlender
University of California
California
United States
adinam@berkeley.edu
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2023

Past President

James Watson
Wildlife Conservation Society
University of Queensland
Australia
jwatson@wcs.org
Chair of the Governance Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2019

Treasurer

Heather DeCaluwe
Colorado
United States
heather.decaluwe@outlook.com
Term ends :30 June 2019

Secretary

Marit Wilkerson
USAID, Africa Bureau
Washington, DC
United States
mlwilkerson@ucdavis.edu
Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee; Liaison to the Awards Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Section Members

Africa Section

Martin NGANJE
Environment & Forestry, Africa
Cameroon
martin.nganje@gmail.com
Section Governing Board President 
Term ends: 31 December 2020

Asia Section

Antony J. Lynam
Wildlife Conservation Society
Center for Global Conservation
Thailand
t.lynman@wcs.com
Section Governing Board President 

Term ends: 30 June 2019

Europe Section

Bengt Gunnar Jonnson
Mid-Sweden University
Sweden
Bengt-Gunnar.Jonsson@miun.se
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 31 December 2020

Latin America and Caribbean Section

Olivier Chassot
Great Green Macaw Program - Tropical Science Center
Costa Rica
olivier.chassot@mail.com
Section Governing Board President 
Term ends: 31 Dec 2017
 

Vice President Members

Vice President for Education and Outreach

Jacqualine Grant
Garth and Jerri Frehner Museum of Natural History
Southern Utah University
Utah
United States
jacqualinegrant@suu.edu
Chair of the Student Affairs Committee; Liaison to Working Groups and Fellowship Programs Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2018

Vice President for Membership

Kevin Njabo
University of Tampa
Florida
United States
kynjabo@hotmail.com
VP for Membership
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Vice President for Programs

Sarah Reed
Wildlife Conservation Society
Colorado State University
Colorado
United States
sarah.reed@colostate.edu
Chair of Policy Committee; Liaison to Publications Committee 
Chair of the Policy Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Marine Section

Katie Matthews
Oceana
Washington, DC
United States
kmatthews@oceana.org
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

North America Section

Jessa Madosky
University of Tampa
Florida
United States
jmadosky@ut.edu
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Oceania Section

Vanessa Adams
University of Queensland
Australia
v.adams@uq.edu.au
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Ombuds

John Robinson
Former SCB President
Chief Conservation Officer, and Executive Vice President
Wildlife Conservation Society
wildcons@gmail.com

Terms of Reference


Regional Section Board Members

Please see the Section webpages for current board member listings