Header image for Regional Awards
SCB Regional Awards

SCB presents Regional Distinguished Service Awards every other year when SCB Groups host regional congresses.

In 2018, SCB Groups presented ten Regional Awards at SCB Group congresses around the world. Read about the 2018 SCB Regional Service Award winners here

Applications for the 2020 RSAs are no longer being accepted and are currently under review by thr SCB Awards Committee. 

Specialized Regional Awards given by SCB

Some SCB Working Groups and Sections have special versions of the Distinguished Service Awards. These awards are:

  • The Young Women in Conservation Biology (YWCB), presented by the Africa Section of SCB.  The YWCB award recognizes the achievements of young women in Africa who advance the discipline of conservation biology on the continent.  More information about the award can be found here.
  • The SCB Europe Section presents the Ikka Hanski Memorial Award Early Career Award. 
  • The Assisi Award, presented by the Religion and Conservation Biology Working Group of SCB.  This award acknowledges organizations and individuals whose work demonstrates that faith-based conservation is contributing significantly to the common global effort of conserving life on Earth.  More information about the award can be found here.
  • The Building Nature’s Brand Award (the Brandy Award), presented by the Conservation Marketing & Engagement Working Group of SCB.  This award seeks to honor conservationists (e.g., scientists, practitioners), whose work furthers the mission of SCB—advancing the science and practice of conserving Earth's biological diversity—through the application of marketing tools.  More information can be found here.
2020 SCB Service Award Contacts
Asia Section Vivek Menon
Europe Section Jonas Geldmann
Conservation Genetics Working Group  Cinnamon Mittan
Conservation Marketing Working Group Ashley Sitar or Brooke Tully
Latin America and Caribbean Section Karla Pelz
Marine Section  Holly Niner
North America Section  Megan Keville
Oceania Section Nicola Nelson or Rebecca Weeks
Participatory and Citizen Science Working Group Eva Lewandowski
Social Science Working Group Patrick Bixler