Header image for Organizing Committee

Conference Steering Committee

From setting the conference dates and theme to coordinating all IMCC Organizing Committees, the Conference Steering Committee is in charge of IMCC's scientific and social program before, during, and after the conference. The committee is excited to welcome delegates from around the world to Kuching and is committed to organizing a first-rate sustainable conference that incorporates Malaysia's local flavor into this global meeting for marine conservation science.

Dr. Edward Hind-Ozan (SCB Marine Section President Elect)

Deputy Chair
Holly Niner(SCB Marine Section Secretary)
Sophia Wassermann (SCB Marine Section Student Officer)

Steering Committee Members
Dr. Katie Matthews (SCB Marine Section President)
Dr. John Cigliano (SCB Marine Section Past President)
Professor Dr. Tonga Ak Noweg - Local Organizing Committee Chair
Dr. David Shiffman - SCB Marine Section Board Member at Large

Committee Chairs
Dr. Joshua Drew - Program Committee Chair
Andrew Lewin - Sponsorship Committee Chair
Matt Tietbohl - Marketing Committee Chair
Heather Penny - Volunteer Committee Chair
Sophia Wassermann - Student Committee Chair
Dr. David Shiffman - OceansOnline Committee Chair

Local Organizing Committee
Professor Dr. Tonga Ak Noweg - Committee Chair
Dr. Jongkar Grinang - UNIMAS Board Member
Dr. Kon Yuk Fong - UNIMAS Board Member
Dr. Aazani Mujahid - UNIMAS Board Member
Miss Cindy Peter - UNIMAS Board Member
Mdm. Constance Vanessa Victor - Sarawak Biodiversity Centre Board Member
Mr. James Bali - Sarawak Forestry Corporation Board Member
Mr. Daud Awang - Sarawak Department of Fisheries Board Member
Mr. Chin Han Kiat - Sarawak Inland Fisheries Board Member
Mr. Phillcaine Pilla - FDS Board Member
Mdm. Belinda Lip - WWF Sarawak Board Member

Meeting Manager
Travis Nielsen