Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Service Awards

SCB is proud of the career achievements of its members and the outstanding contributions they make to conservation every day and we honor those achievements through an official awards program.  

2013 SCB Service Award winners Eleanor Sterling (top left), James Watson (top right), Lucas Joppa (bottom left), and Bill Sutherland (bottom right). Not pictured: John Woinarski, winner of a Distinguished Service Award, the Center for the Study and Conservation of Raptors in Argentina (CECARA), an programmatic winner of the Distinguished Service Award, and Robin Waples, winner of the LaRoe Award.

In 2016, the SCB Service Awards will be run through SCB Sections and Working Groups, and awards will be presented at SCB regional congresses in June - September.

Please contact your Group's representative on the Awards Committee (see below), or Awards Committee Chair Carolyn Lundquist for further information. 

2015 SCB Service Award winners Stacy Jupiter (top left, blue shirt), Kerry Sink (top right), Mike Hoffman, on behalf of IUCN Red List (bottom left) and Sue Miller-Taei. Not pictured is Elsa Cabrera, winner of a Distinguished Service Award.

In 2015, SCB presented Distinguished Service Awards to Elsa Cabrera, the founder and CEO of Cenro de Conservacion Cetacea, Chile; Kerry Sink, the Marine Program Manager at the South African National Biodiversity Institute; and Mike Hoffman, who accepted the award on behalf of the IUCN Red List. Stacy Jupiter won the Early Career Conservationist Award for her work in Oceania on human activities on linked tropical coastal ecosystems and ecosystem services. 

Sue Miller-Taei won the Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award. 

Click here top learn more about the history of the SCB awards and to view past winners. 

Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award

Given to an individual who has been a leader in translating principles of conservation biology into real-world conservation. Preference is given to employees of government agencies or individuals who have spent at least part of their career in public service. The intention of the award is to recognize the innovative application of science to resource management and policy.  

Distinguished Service Awards

Recognizes individuals, groups or institutions for distinguished service in any field associated with conservation biology and whose work has furthered the mission of SCB.  

Early Career Conservationist Awards

Honors achievements in conservation by professionals early in their careers (no more than 10 years since leaving school). SCB does not apply an age criteria in order to enable eligibility for individuals who might have come to conservation as a second career.

SCB Awards Committee 
Carolyn Lundquist Chair
Stephen M. Awoyemi Africa Representative
Christie Lam Asia Representative
Vanessa Adams Oceania Representative
Anthony Giordano Latin America and Caribbean Representative
Javier Bustamante Díaz  Europe Representative
Leslie Cornick Marine Representative
Andy Holdsworth North America Representative
Carlos Carrol North America Representative
Stephen Awoyemi Religion & Conservation Biology Working Group
Christie Lam Social Sciences Working Group