Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs
sections image

North America Section Board of Directors

The North America Section of the Society for Conservation Biology has an international following of members that support conservation in North America. The board of directors is an elected body that facilitates the goals and activities of the Section.

Current Members

  • Shelley Alexander, University of Calgary

  • Sergio Avila, (EID Officer), Sierra Club

  • Kristin Carden (Treasurer), Earthjustice

  • Carlos Carroll (Past-President), Klamath Center for Conservation Research 

  • Kai Chan, University of British Columbia

  • Brett Hartl (VP for Policy & Programs), Center for Biological Diversity

  • Sarah Klain (Student Representative), Oregon State University

  • Jessa Madosky (President), University of Tampa

  • Rebecca McCaffery (Chapters Representative)

  • Karen Root (President-elect), Bowling Green State University

  • Courtney Schultz, Colorado State University

  • Dave Theobald, Conservation Science Partners, Inc.

  • Steve Trombulak (VP for Education & Chapters), Middlebury College

Future Members

If you are interested in being a member of the North American board of directors you must be a member of SCB and a member of the Section. Generally, four board members are elected annually. The call for nominations goes out in March or April and the election runs in April or May. Each year Section members receive an email about the open positions and the start of the election process. For more information about getting involved with this board, please contact a board member or


Jamie Hogberg, Director of Operations, SCB North America