Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Needs You

Call for new committee members

Every organization faces the challenge of keeping itself fresh through the continual renewal of its active leadership. As we continue to evolve as an organization, we must remain vigilant in bringing new ideas, perspectives, and experience into leadership positions. SCB is in a period of rapid evolution with a number of new initiatives plus revitalization of old undertakings. Much of this work involves committees, and we are seeking members who would like to volunteer to serve on these committees. SCB's standing and ad-hoc committees are determined by the SCB Board of Governors and the SCB membership, and are set forth in the bylaws. Below you will find links to brief descriptions of the various committees and their policies about bringing in new members. Note that several committees are open to new members at any time, while many others do a major reshuffling after each International Congress for Conservation Biology.

Committee Structure and Bylaw Changes

Changes to the structure of the Board of Governors were voted on and approved by the SCB membership in late 2014. These changes included: 

1. Abolishing the 9 Member-at-large Board positions 

2. Committee chairs are no longer voting members of the Board 

3. Adding 3 new board positions: Vice President for Programs, Vice President for Membership, and Vice President for Education & Outreach. These 3 VPs, and the other elected officers of the board, are now each responsible for overseeing a portfolio of committees.

The portfolio of each elected officer is subject to change. The current portfolio of each elected officer are listed below.

Office Elected Official Portfolio of Committees
President Mike Mascia Audit, Executive, Development     
Past President James Watson Governance
President Elect Adina Merenlender Conference
Treasurer Heather DeCaluwe Finance & Investment, Ecological Footprint
Secretary Marit Wilkerson Awards
VP for Programs Sarah Reed Publications, Policy
VP for Education & Outreach Jackie Grant Education & Student Affairs, Liaison to Working Groups, Liaison to Fellowship Programs
VP for Membership Kevin Njabo Chapters, Diversity


Standing Committees 

Committee Chair Term (yrs)
Audit Beth O'Donnell 2
Awards Carolyn Lundquist 2
Chapters Kevin Njabo 2
Conference Adina Merenlender 2
Diversity and Inclusion  Eleanor Sterling, Cynthia Malone 2
Ecological Footprint Ron Abrams 2
Education & Student Affairs Jacqualine Grant 2
Finance & Investment Heather DeCaluwe 2
Governance James Watson 2
Policy Sarah Reed 2
Publications Sarah Reed 2
Standing Committees
  • Development