Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs
sections image

Marine Section Board of Directors (@SCBMarine)

President: Kathryn Matthews  
Oceana, United States

Katie began her marine conservation career by accident, when she tried SCUBA for the first time while in Australia studying geology. After finishing a PhD and postdoc, her career took another left turn when she departed academia to spend a year as a science aide in the U.S. Congress.   Almost 10 years later, she's still in the science policy world, now as the Deputy Chief Scientist for Oceana, an international marine conservation non-profit.

President Elect: Edd Hind-Ozan  
Cardiff University, United Kingdom

Secretary: Holly Niner
University College London, Australia

Holly has worked in marine conservation for a number of years since finishing her undergrad in Oceanography in 2007. Having spent time in NGOs, government and industry in the UK she’s now found herself back at university, and in Australia, currently finishing up a PhD focussed on marine governance.

Student Representative: Sophia Wassermann
National University of Ireland, Galway

Sophia Wassermann a PhD candidate at the National University of Ireland Galway, interested in computational approaches to issues at the intersection of fisheries and climate change. Currently, she is modelling the group behaviour of Atlantic mackerel to improve estimates of population size and to learn how the condition of the fish affects how they organise themselves.

Policy Officer: Angela Bednarek  

Angela Bednarek is a project director at The Pew Charitable Trusts in the environmental science division. She develops strategies for enhancing and assessing the policy relevance of the division’s research investments. This includes developing scholarship and convening scholars and practitioners on improving the connections between science and policy.
Before joining Pew, Bednarek was a foreign affairs officer and AAAS Diplomacy Fellow at the U.S. Department of State in the Office of Environmental Policy. While at the State Department, she was responsible for coordinating and negotiating U.S. positions on the Global Environmental Facility, OECD, the environmental impacts of World Bank projects and international chemicals agreements. In addition, she served as the U.S. Representative to the United Nations Dams and Development Project. She has also held several fellowships in environmental policy, including one at the Earth Institute at Columbia University in New York and a Morris K. Udall Fellowship in Environmental Public Policy and Conflict Resolution. She has also worked as a consultant for the Tennessee Valley Authority on mitigating the effects of dams on rivers. She holds a bachelor’s degree in biology and studio art from the University of Notre Dame, a master’s degree in biology from the University of Louisville, and a Ph.D. in biology from the University of Pennsylvania.

Science Officer: Thomas P. Good  
NOAA Fisheries, United States

Tom Good  is a research biologist for NOAA Fisheries in Seattle, WA, USA, where he works on seabird conservation, US West Coast fisheries, and interactions between the two. Currently, he works on monitoring populations of piscivorous seabirds in Puget Sound and along the outer Washington coast, bycatch of threatened and endangered albatrosses in West Coast fisheries, and assessing risk to seabirds from marine debris throughout the California Current.

Interdiscipliary Officer: Clare Fieseler  
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, United States

Education Officer: Jacob Levenson  
Boston University, United States

Board Member at Large: David Shiffman   
Simon Fraser University, Vancouver

Dr. David Shiffman is a Liber Ero Postdoctoral Fellow at Simon Fraser University studying the sustainability of Canadian shark fisheries from an interdisciplinary perspective.

Communication Officer: Katie Walters   
Griffith University, Australia

Katie is a PhD candidate in Queensland, Australia, looking at just how we can create new public appreciation for marine science and scientists, and build healthy productive relationships in the space between science, management, and community.

Diversity Officer: Lourdes Martinez-Estevez  
University of California-Santa Cruz, United States and Mexico

Luli Martinez is a Mexican biologist focused on wildlife conservation. She earned her M.S. degree in Ecology from the National Autonomous University of Mexico in Mexico City. Currently, she is pursuing a Ph.D. in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at University of California, Santa Cruz. Her research is about the spatial ecology and conservation of Eastern Pacific hawksbill sea turtles in the Gulf of California, Mexico. She is also professor of the Latin American Conservation Biology Course, which is held in Peru, Colombia and Costa Rica since 2011.


You can reach the SCB Marine board with general enquiries by emailing To reach a specific board member, click the icons beside their name to email them or find them on Twitter.

Future Members

If you are interested in being a member of the Marine Board, you must be a member of SCB and a member of the Marine Section. Generally 2 to 4 board members are elected annually. The Call for Nominations goes out in November or December, and the election runs in December. Each year section members receive a notice via the Marine Listserv about the open positions and the start of the election process. For more information about getting involved with this board, please contact a board member or Each Marine Section board member is a volunteer and serves a three-year term. Terms are staggered such that not all officers retire each year.